Title: I Love You SeriesI-Love-You-Daddy
Author: Jillian Harker
Illustrator: Daniel Howarth
Pages: 25 pages each
Recommended Ages: Read Aloud
Star Rating: ★★★★★

My word. My heart has just been stolen. Stolen by a little bear named… Little Bear. Stolen by this delightful set of picture books by Jillian Harker and Kristina Stephenson.

In I Love You, Daddy, Daddy Bear invites Little Bear along for a day of exploration and adventure. Although Little Bear doubts his own ability to do hard things, Daddy Bear gently demonstrates the skill and then encourages Little Bear to try them himself.

I-Love-You-MommyIn I Love You, Mommy, Little Bear is certain that he knows how to cross a stream and climb a tree. But after falling into one and out of the other, he realizes that it isn’t so easy as he thought and welcomes instruction on these and other things from his mother.

In I Love You, Grandpa, Little Bear enjoys showing Grandpa Bear how well he can catch a fish and dig a den. But he is awed to discover that wise Grandpa Bear has found even cleverer ways to do these things!I-Love-You-Grandpa

In I Love You, Grandma, Little Bear is curious. Why does he have such a long nose? Why does he have such sharp claws? And how does Grandma know the answers to all of his questions?

The I Love You series breathes affection and togetherness. In every book, one of Little Bear’s forbears walks along side him, I-Love-You-Grandmatenderly teaching him how to accomplish tasks wisely and answering all of his questions. Little Bear drinks in their instruction and responds with gratitude, telling them how much he loves them and how wise they are. I was delighted to see such solid relationships represented in a picture book series.

Conclusion. Any adjective I could use – darling, precious, adorable – is an understatement. If your children like picture books, then BUY THESE BOOKS FOR THEM! Full recommendation.

Review © 2013 Laura Verret

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *