Title: Now We Are SixNow We Are Six
Author: A. A. Milne
Illustrator: Ernest H. Shepard
Pages: 103
Recommended Ages: 8 & up
Star Rating: ★★★★★

Now We Are Six is a collection of poetry by A. A. Milne and contains poems not only of Pooh Bear (who claims he was looking for Piglet and wandered through this book by mistake), but also of the Knight Whose Armor Didn’t Squeak, the Two little Bears, Alexander the Beetle, and bad King John.

Here is one of my favorite poems from this book.


Whenever I’m a shining Knight,
I buckle on my armour tight;
And then I look about for things,
Like Rushings-Out, and Rescuings,
And Savings from the Dragon’s Lair,
And fighting all the Dragons there.
And sometimes when our fights begin,
I think I’ll let the Dragons win. . . .
And then I think perhaps I won’t,
Because they’re Dragons, and I don’t. [pg. 55]

I chose the shortest on purpose. :)

Caution – one of the illustrations depicts a woman’s cleavage. It is slight, but there.

Conclusion. Littles will eat this stuff up.

Review © 2014 Laura Verret

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *